Do Your Panties Make You Feel Sexy?

11 Jan
According to an article I found on Current TV, women, on average,  own about 21 pairs of underwear. And, many claim that a ugly or ill-fitting pair of undies can ruin their day.  I know that panties that ride or roll and sag can be annoying, but I’ve never had a day ruined by ugly panties. You?  

Based on a survey of 1008 women, here are some fascinating tidbits about girlie panty wearing behavior:

  • Almost half of women (47%) say they feel sexier and more confident wearing a nice or special pair of panties.
  • 27% say their mood is affected by wearing an ill-fitting or unattractive pair of undies.
  • 10% of women own 35 or more pairs.
  • 65% buy neutral colors, with white being the most popular, followed by black and beige.
  • Overall, 46% of women say briefs are the style they wear the most often. But women age 18-34 are more likely to wear the bikini style.
  • 56% of women fold their panties; 27% just toss them in the drawer.
  • 1 in 10 women admit that they will venture out of the house without underwear.
  • Half of women have complaints about the way their underwear fit, with “wedgies” (30%) topping that list, followed by “doesn’t lay flat under clothes” (19%) and “not enough coverage in the rear” (14%).

I don’t know about you but on a given ordinary work type day, I’m all about comfort. That means briefs, beige or black and comfy. No thongs, no tiny little things that get lost when I sit down. Do I feel less sexy? No, I feel comfortable.

For dress-up and those anticipatory intimate moments, then I’m going for something sexy-normally black and somewhat smaller.

What about you ladies? Do the panties make the woman? If Bridget Jones could get laid in big droopy white granny panties isn’t there hope for all of us?

www.shopsmartmag.org

14 Responses to “Do Your Panties Make You Feel Sexy?”

  1. lifeintheboomerlane January 11, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Yes and no. I, personally, can’t be sexy in big white underpants, but I’m thinking Angelina Jolie wouldn’t have that issue. I’m a Hanky Panky Girl, 4811 to be exact. I love colorful underwear (I wish I could get bras to match). I folded for awhile, now I just toss. My biggest peeve: pantyliners are still made for larger style panties. There, I’ve said it. Feels good to get it off my chest. Or rather, out of my panties.

    • deliriouslydivine January 11, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      Oh yes, you go girl! I have to agree about the pantyliners. Who’s in charge of those things?
      I don’t know what Hanky Panky Girl, 4811 refers to? I guess that reveals my basic lack of knowledge about panties. I much prefer to focus on my top half, and a sexy bra makes me feel like a million bucks. But admittedly,my last acquisition- a pair of animal print hipsters and matching camisole!!

  2. Jillsy Girl January 11, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    okay…this is the first time I’ve ever heard of one of our underwear styles being referred to as “briefs”. Have I been living on another planet possibly? Men’s briefs, yes, but women’s? Hmmm…I’m guessing they are referring to the old lady panties maybe. I’m a bikini girl myself. always. some more bikini-ish than others, but none-the-less, all bikini. Now, I did try the boy shorts variety a couple years ago, but they certainly aren’t flattering to anyone who has an extra pound or two in the mid-section.

    • deliriouslydivine January 11, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      Don’t we live and learn. I know my body wasn’t made for the boy shorts…

  3. Barbara January 11, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Yes and no – I like combining sexy and comfortable, if possible. But there are times I’ll go for straight sexy! Ditto Jillsy on the boy shorts and bikinis. And toss or fold – depends on my mood!

    • deliriouslydivine January 11, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

      I think we can do sexy and comfortable… though I’m not sure how thongs fit in here?

  4. Jillsy Girl January 11, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Never have folded a pantie in my life! But, I do fold hubby’s!

    • deliriouslydivine January 12, 2011 at 7:33 am #

      That’s very nice of you, I hope he appreciates that! I don’t fold either-it’s more of a toss.

  5. Emma Jayne January 13, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    I discovered there is a fetish group of men who are turned on by women wearing Grannies. What a win-win situation! I don’t have to cram a thong up my cooch AND I get some awesome sexy-time.

    • deliriouslydivine January 13, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      I don’t know whether I’m turned on by that or not? Sounds a tad icky… though think of the comfort, as you say.
      But, what do they look like? Are they wearing saggy, stained formerly-tightie whities? ‘Cause that’s a turn-off for me.

      • Emma Jayne January 13, 2011 at 9:54 am #

        Oooo! The visual! I was totally into it until I read the words “saggy and stained”.

  6. sledpress January 14, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    One of the most consulted posts on my blog nearly five hundred hits) is all about underpants. (I personally recoil from the word “panties.” which has a prepubescent little-girly sound that squicks me out.) It’s a subject about which I’m deeply entrenched, and no, that does not mean thongs:

    http://sledpress.wordpress.com/2009/06/24/bite-my-ass-victoria/

    • deliriouslydivine January 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      And, I can see why! Great summary of the whole undie experience.
      I agree that ‘pantie’ has an image, but really the ‘big girl pantie isn’t the least bit youthful or sexual!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

