I Want Life To Be Easy

18 Jul

I can’t sit still. I need to work and yet a million things flow through my head. The rewrite, the moss on the roof, sticks in the yard, the forgotten payment I still haven’t mailed. Where to query? What can I do (as she pauses remembering the 2 lottery tickets from yesterday…win the lottery and then just delete the post) …

Sigh. I’m back.

I’m numb. Then I’m anxious. Restless, caught in a spiral of denials and letting go and regrets. Looking for a quick fix. An easy answer.

I want life to be easy.

It’s the statement that floats around my head these days. It’s not that I don’t understand the difficulty of life. It’s not that I haven’t encountered, tackled and continue to handle incredibly difficult situations. But, I’m not really accepting that Life Is Not Easy. That means I have to work harder. Like my life depended on it.

Where’s my safety net? Safety nets. Don’t we all have more than one?

I let go of one last week. It’s knocked me on my ass. It was the ‘don’t worry, I’m not really alone’ net. One I’ve been clutching to for years, almost 9.

Funny. I’ve had to let go of all kinds of shit in the last 30 days.

  • The colonoscopy/endoscopy procedures done under the same sedation. We all know that kind of letting go that entailed. Plus the trust that all would go well and nothing serious would be discovered.
  • The clog in my pipes. Water on laundry room floor, sewage in guest shower stall. TWICE
  • Four or five days without power. I lost a refrigerator and 2 freezers full of food. Every fucking condiment I owned had to be thrown away. All the wonderful jams, pestos, sauces, exotic mustards. Dumped. And, of course I can’t replace them all. The frig looked beautiful. I’ve always loved white space so a moment of rejoicing! (ha ha)
  • My vision of life as easy-peasy. No more thinking I can casually find work, money, fame, happiness, the best sex on the planet, the ideal man. It’s the casual part I am having to grapple with.

Hmm… Only five little deadly bullet points. It feels like more. It is. I let go of something, someone, I needed to let go of a long time ago. Done it before, but never permanently. My safety net. My love. The one I want but can’t have.

I  knew we’d never have more and have struggled mightily at times, expending life-sucking energy, to “be ok” with my choice. That’s what brings numbness, it keeps me from sitting on the left side of the sofa. Nostalgic over coffee on Wednesday mornings. Temporarily losing my sex drive (GAWD, I know, but really it’s a good thing…there is no one around to play with!) . Turning the bottle of Wild Turkey to the corner, like a bad boy, so I can’t see the label–which is way better than just drinking the damn stuff in one sitting.

Yes, I’m whining. Part grief, part story-telling. Part exorcism.

We all let go. Life isn’t easy for any of us. I know that. You know that. Some days are better than others:

Some days are dry, some days are leaky
Some days come clean, other days are sneaky
Some days take less, but most days take more
Some slip through your fingers and onto the floor
Some days you’re quick, but most days you’re speedy
Some days you use more force than is necessary
Some days just drop in on us

 

 

3 Responses to “I Want Life To Be Easy”

  1. barbarashallue July 18, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    That is really a lot in a short time to have to deal with. I’d be whining a whole lot more than you and I’d probably have finished off that bottle! Hang in there – you know how sometimes when things get really bad, that’s when something fantastic happens? That’s what I’m wishing for you! (P.S. Thanks for the U2 fix!)
    “The frig looked beautiful. I’ve always loved white space so a moment of rejoicing! (ha ha)” Love it!

    • deliriouslydivine July 18, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Glad you liked the white space joke. The freezer in particular looks positively barren!
      I’ve been working on that bottle, must admit. Thank you.

  2. Brian July 19, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    Easy is boring. Isn’t it nice to be able to look back and think “Boy, I made it through some nasty stuff, eh?” And all that stuff in the last 30 days – none of it was in your control! Although the colonoscopy prep is certainly no picnic and the associated anxiety is, well, nerve wracking, you made it through! Chalk it up as another badge of honor and keep on truckin’!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

